Miscellaneous Pieces for piano op. 52

Recording not available.

Opis materiału
  • Composer:Henryk Mikołaj Górecki
  • Original title: Utwory różne na fortepian op. 52
  • content: 1. Recitativo and Mazurka
    2. Two pieces
    3. Three twelve-tone miniatures
    4. Quasi walc
  • year of completion: 1961
  • instrumentation: piano
  • Dedication: To Władysława Markiewiczówna (no. 4)
Miscellaneous Pieces for piano is a set of four early Górecki compositions, which the composer brought together as a cycle in the 1980s, as his op. 52 . It comprises Recitative and Mazurka from 1956, Two Pieces and Three Dodecaphonic Miniatures from 1957, and Quasi Waltz, written in 1961 and dedicated to Władysława Markiewicz, a distinguished pianist and piano teacher from Katowice. The miniatures in the cycle are in the style of Górecki’s early compositions, though we can notice signs of the composer’s interest in more modern sonic techniques, for example in the Three Dodecaphonic Miniatures.