Intermezzo for piano

Recording not available.

Opis materiału
  • Composer:Henryk Mikołaj Górecki
  • Original title: Intermezzo na fortepian
  • year of completion: 1990
  • instrumentation: piano
  • commission: Louise Lerche-Lerchenborg
  • Dedication: Andenken an Poul Rovsing Olsen
  • Premiere: Lerchenborg, 03.08.1990, Rosalind Bevan – piano
  • Discography: “The Persian Hours. Mystical Piano Music”, Tamara Anna Cisłowska – piano, ABC Classics, 2009
Intermezzo was the third commission received by Górecki from Countess Louise Lerche-Lerchenborg. It was part of a project dedicated to the memory of her husband, the Danish composer Paul Rovsing Olsen, and at the same time of the 25th Lerchenborg Music Days anniversary celebrations. For this project, 19 composers were invited to write a short variation on a theme from Olsen’s suite The Planets. Górecki chose to compose a very brief Intermezzo for piano – an atmospheric miniature based on repeated chordal motifs separated by rests. The piece was first performed in 1990 in Lerchenborg by Rosalind Bevan, the pianist of the Danish Trio.