Two Songs op. 42

Recording not available.

Opis materiału
  • Composer:Henryk Mikołaj Górecki
  • Original title: Dwie pieśni op. 42 na głos i fortepian
  • content: 1. Notturno
    2. Malagueña
  • year of completion: 1980
  • instrumentation: medium voice, piano
  • text author: Federico García Lorca
  • kind of text: literary
  • Text language: Polish
  • Premiere: Łańcut, 13.05.2001, Adam Kruszewski – baritone, Henryk Mikołaj Górecki – piano
Two Songs op. 42 is Górecki’s only composition with texts originally written in a language other than Polish or Latin. It is a setting of two poems by Federico García Lorca, though the composer makes use of a Polish translation by Mikołaj Bieszczadowski. From his youth, Górecki used to read poetry printed in the press and cut out texts he found interesting. This was also how he came across these two poems.

The first of the songs, Nocturne, was composed as early as 1956 – more or less at the same time as the Three Songs op. 3. The composer revised the piece in 1980 and added a second song, Malagueña, thus creating the song cycle op. 42. Nocturne musically represents the dark atmosphere of nightfall – a declamatory solo part, dissonances in the accompaniment – whereas Malagueña is slightly softer and milder in terms of expression. Both pieces reflect the character of Spanish folk song very well, with their loose structure and strong emotional accents.